image

You have turned for me my mourning into dancing; you have loosed my sackcloth and clothed me with gladness, that my glory may sing your praise and not be silent. O Lord my God, I will give thanks to you forever! (Psalm 30:11, 12 ESV)

My friend has a new red barn. She likes to dance; no, she loves to dance. She plans to host dances in her barn. Hopefully we will get to dance in her barn. Dancing is just a form of movement—-that’s all it is. I’ve taught “aerobic” classes in the past and many, many women have said to me “I can’t dance”. It was always fun to “break down” the movements and teach them how to dance. But it was more fun watching them succeed and feel comfortable and confident in their movement. plus, the added benefit of achieving their fitness/health goal was highly rewarding for both the student and the teacher. To go through a dreary or terrible time in our lives and then have the Great Teacher take us dancing is nothing but miraculous and wonderful. He does remove our sorrows and loosens those mourning clothes. He does give us gladness and He does give us songs to sing His praise when He does turn our mourning into dancing. Thank You Lord for bodies you created to dance and for teaching us how to dance and for friends to dance with, and for red barns.

