Patricia,

I would like to share with you the benefits of regular exercise combined with a sensible diet that I have enjoyed since January 2010.

All of my life I have struggled with my weight.  I was a yoyo dieter, I would lose 20 pounds then gain it back a short time later.  My doctor told me in 2008 I was on the verge of becoming a diabetic.  I had been previously diagnosed with Parkinson’s in 2007.

Finally in 2009 I decided either I was going to be a diabetic, or maybe I should try to do something about it.  I joined Jenny Craig and had a slow but steady weight loss for the next three months.  Then I hit a plateau and the weight was going nowhere.  My counselor at Jenny Craig suggested I try exercising.  I was not thrilled with that idea at all.  I’m too busy, I don’t look good in exercise clothes, etc.  I had all kinds of excuses.  Then something in my head said to try for just a short time.

I joined a ladies’ gym in January 2009 and started using a personal trainer and I am still using the same personal trainer to this day!  I have now been able to see all of the benefits of combining the weight loss program with exercise.

I was able to make my goal weight about a year later.  Now that I have lost the weight and have managed to only gain about 5 pounds back, I just eat sensibly.  By continuing to exercise, it has been much easier to maintain my weight.  In addition, each year I get my results from blood work results are better.  The good cholesterol keeps going up and the bad goes down more.  The doctor also took me off the prediabetes list this year.

The most important part of exercising is having a trainer to help guide me and by having an appointment with her, I am more accountable.  If I did not have her, probably half the time I would find those old excuses not to go to the gym.

The neurologist says my balance is really good, too, since we do a lot of core work.   I am stronger now than I have ever been.

I am sharing this with you in the hopes it will help inspire someone else to keep exercising, too.

Thanks for letting me share.

Joyce McCoy

