I happen to live in one of the most amazing and beautiful places in the world. I live in Alaska, and if there is one thing everyone here loves to do, it is be out in nature, no matter the season. One of my favorite things to do, is get out and about with my camera. There is so much to see! So much to do- whether it is kayaking, hiking, snowshoeing, skiing, or camping. I can’t imagine not having the energy or the strength to get out in the middle of all this gorgeousness!

 I try to be faithful about working out. I average 5 days a week at a very small gym about a mile and a half from my house. My favorite machine is the elliptical trainer. I can read while I work out, and it keeps me distracted enough to spend some quality time. For motivation, I try to save the best parts of whatever book I am reading for the gym- that would be about the last ¼ of each book.

My favorite doctor (my husband) always tells me that our longevity is in part determined by our cardiovascular fitness, and our quality of life is determined in part, by our strength (weights) fitness. That makes a lot of sense and helps me keep me focused for the long haul, working out as a way of life.

one other thing, staying in shape helps with…. shoveling snow! about a foot last night… we just finished. whew!

